Success Stories

(All the names in the case study are changed name as per the publication rule and keeping in confidentiality of the client)

I’m Shantii Khati, 17 year; I’m a resident of Madamadpur V.D.C. Three years before when there was battle between the Maoist and the security personnel near my house, I was in my home when accidently the bullet got into my leg and I was heavily injured and had a big wound in my leg, which resulted me to be physically challenged. I was already married that time but I had not gone to husband’s home as the process of “gauna” was still left. My misfortune let me to be physically challenged. Also, my husband had some family problem and taking poison he committed suicide.

Currently, I am leaving in my maternal home and my father is a farmer, so he works in the field. Economic condition of family is also not enough to run the household.  I did not have any skills so as to do any work. One day one of the Aawaaj staff, Chameli sister informed me about the training that Aawaaj provides. As, I am from the Madeshi community, in the initial days I had difficulty in getting out form the house and also, I was scared and nervous to go out form the home.
Within few days after receiving the information about the training, I participated in the four days preliminary training for the first time in my life. Participating in the training, I came to know about various things such as one has to take initiation to move ahead positively in life, we should not be discouraged in any of the circumstances in life, if we take initiation we can surely get success in life. Attending this training I developed confidence and hope learn skill and utilize it so that I can make my life better, so I gave application for the training of embroidery.

Currently, I am taking embroidery training. Now I have learned to make 16 designs of embroidery. There is a great significance of embroidery in our community “Madeshi community”. People prefer the embroidery designed cloths during the time of marriage, puja and other special functions. I have informed to people that I can do embroidery and in the initial days I will start my work designing the embroidery in the cloths of my village people. I wish to move ahead in my life.

I am Kamala Rokaya, spouse of the middle brother among total three in the household residing at Kharigaira in Dailekh district. I have two sons. Born in a lower class family, I got married in 2000 AD. My husband had to go to India due to weak economic condition of the house. On the other hand, due to poverty, I had disputes over simple matters with other family members. My weak physical condition and my husband’s frequent abroad visit had created problem in the household. In the meantime, I opened a cosmetic shop at Dailekh Bazaar in 2066 BS with the help of maternal home and my sisters. As village dwellers, we felt it quite difficult in the market place. In the meantime, I heard that Aawaaj helped poor women affected from violence. I ventured about the Aawaaj and the way it had been helping the family. The staffs of the Aawaaj assured to help me identifying my condition as it helped the poor women like us.

 At first, it was difficult to operate the shop. The daily transaction used to be from Rs 100 to 200. Aawaaj supported to extend my cosmetic shop. Nowadays, the transaction has comparatively increased up to 1000 to 1200 rupees daily, making almost Rs 250 to 300 net profits. I am taking care of my children and managing household expenses out of the income. The perception of other family members towards me has changed. My husband is caring for the household. My husband’s condition is also changed too much, such as: He has been helping on household works and sends children to school. My father and mother-in-laws also visit and care for us. I am getting love from everywhere. I have already cleared my debt in three installments from the income of the shop. I would like to thank Aawaaj for identifying my problem and helping me, though little. I came to know many things about violence against women. I can never forget Aawaaj in my life as I earn more money because of the help I got from the Aawaaj.

I’m Shanti B.C. resident of Latikoile, Surkhet, My husband use to neglected me frequently when we were together then I started living in the Chaudhari premises. I have one son with me. I was deprived from any kind of support from my husband’s family, to get Justice I approached Aawaaj for help and filed a case for divorce. At that time I was running Ghumti shop but it was less profitable, very hard to run daily life and send my son to school. In the shop there were no goods to sell also so I applied to Aawaaj asking for support. After that, Aawaaj supported me by giving 1% profit and 2000 worth goods to run the shop. Now I’m running my life and shop successfully by the profit I make and also can send my son to school. On 2066/7/19 I applied to Aawaaj for economic support for running Ghumti shop, I was provided Rs 2000 as an economic support from Aawaaj. I’ll be always grateful to Aawaaj for its support

My Journey Towards Independency

User Rating:  / 0

My name is Deepa Shahi. I live in Latikoili V.D.C, Naya Ghursha. I am ignored by my husband and my family also left me alone. In this condition I only have my tears as my friend. My struggle started from my childhood, this became a prominent reason that I could not move ahead in life. When I saw the children of the rich family going to school, even I wanted to join school. I requested my parents to admit me in school, but this could not happen, I was said that girls should not be going to school and only my brothers were send to school. So, then I joined informal class, during day time I was engaged in household and in the evening studies. Completing 9 months of informal class I got admitted in grade 5. When I stepped 18 years of age, my father arranged my marriage.  As I was physically weak I requested my father to postponed my marriage but my voice was not heard and was forced to get married with the person whom I did not liked and that my husband is 15 years older than me and he already had married previously and left the previous wife. Also the family I was married is very poor and we had to work in others house to meet our daily basic needs. When I asked for simple of my needs I was scolded stating that I have to earn for my need. There used to be constant quarrel in the home and I was scolded and insulted for no good reasons. For this I used to escape to my maternal home time to time. This situation really troubled me and I was wondering what to do, one evening while I was listening to radio I heard the program of Aawaaj, which stated that I will help the women in need and affected from various problems. I even came to know that one of my friends was supported by Aawaaj so with a dim hope of receiving some help I visited Aawaaj. I was lucky that I got the opportunity to take three months tailoring training. Within the training period I’ am able to sew vest, petticoat, half pant, gown, kurta-salwar, frock. As a part of training period various discussion programs related to the issues of domestic violence such as its effect, its solution, about child marriage, discrimination etc are also conducted, which has enlightened me. In future, I want to develop my skills and also help others by teaching what I have learned.